(For Immediate release)


Notice is hereby given to the general public that the Electoral Commission of Zambia has prescribed Thursday 30th June, 2022 as the date on which to hold Ward by-elections in Lumbo Ward of Mongu Municipal Council in Western Province and Nshinso Ward of Mkushi Town Council in Central Province. Nominations for the said by-elections will be conducted on Tuesday, 7th June, 2022.

The by-election in Lumbo Ward has been necessitated by the death of Councillor Akekelwa Wakumelo, of the United Party for National Development (UPND) on Tuesday 5th April, 2022.  The vacancy in Nshinso Ward is as a result of the resignation of Councillor Xaviour Chisenga, of the Patriotic Front (PF) on Monday 4th April, 2022.

The polls will take place from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates in the by-elections should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner for Oaths, Election Officer or returning officer on Tuesday, 7th June, 2022 between 09:00 hours and 15:00 hours. 

Aspiring candidates in the Local Government ward by-elections should take along with them nine (9) supporters who must be registered voters in the affected wards. Male aspiring candidates will be required to pay One Thousand Five Hundred Kwacha (K1, 500.00), for Municipal Council and Six Hundred Kwacha (K600.00) for Town Council, non-refundable nomination fee.

Female, Youth and Persons with Disabilities aspiring candidates in the Local Government ward by-elections are required to pay One Thousand Kwacha (K1, 000) for Municipal Council and Five Hundred Kwacha (K500) for Town Council, non-refundable nomination fee.

All Candidates in the by-elections must also present certified copies of their Grade 12 Certificates, as a minimum academic qualification or equivalent.

In view of this, the Commission wishes to advise aspiring candidates who may wish to contest in these by-elections that failure to comply with these requirements shall render the nomination papers null and void.

Media personnel and Registered Non-Governmental Organizations wishing to monitor/observe the by-elections are advised to apply for accreditation in the respective districts which will take place from Saturday 4th to Monday 6th June 2022, for Nominations and Monday 27th to Wednesday 29th June 2022 for the Polls.  

Accreditation for participating political party officials/representatives of candidates wishing to monitor the by-elections shall only be up to a maximum of 10 members per political party/candidate.

Please note that only a maximum of 5 accredited members per political party/candidate and two accredited representatives of NGOs shall be authorized to represent their respective political parties/candidate or NGOs at the Collation Centre (Totaling Centre).

Only five (5) senior officials of any participating political party/candidate with Electoral Commission of Zambia accreditation will be allowed to accompany aspiring candidates into the Nomination Centre during the filing of nominations. The rest of the supporters should remain outside the 400 meter parameter from the Nomination Centre in accordance with the law.

Note that the campaign period for these elections commences on Tuesday 7th June, 2022 after 15:00 hours and will end at 18:00 hours on Wednesday, 29th June, 2022. 

In addition, not more than two (2) political party members/candidate representatives per participating political party/candidate shall be allowed to witness counting of votes at the Polling Station.

The Commission would like to further inform all stakeholders and participating political parties/candidates that they are required to observe the Ministry of Health guidelines and procedures on the prevention of COVID-19.


Ward By-elections

1 Western Mongu Mongu Central Lumbo
2 Central Mkushi Mkushi North Nshinso

For any clarification, please contact the Corporate Affairs Department on 0211 252208 or the District Electoral Officers in the respective districts.

Patricia Luhanga

Corporate Affairs Manager

For/The Commission


Leave a Reply