Press Release: Council Chairperson by-Election in Kafue District

11th March, 2019

(For Immediate Release)

Notice is hereby given to the General Public that the Electoral Commission of Zambia has prescribed 14th March, 2019 as the date on which to hold nominations for the position of Council Chairperson in Kafue District. The By-election in Kafue District has been necessitated following the resignation of the incumbent Council Chairperson, Mr. Thomas Zulu.

The Commission shall conduct the Council Chairperson By-election in Kafue District on 27th March, 2019. The poll will take place from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates in the by-election should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner of Oaths, Election Officer or Returning Officer between 09:00 hours and 15:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates for the By-election in Kafue District should take along with them fifteen (15) supporters who must be registered voters in the District. The supporters must have in their possession their Green National Registration Cards and Voters’ Cards. The Aspiring candidates for the by-election will also be required to pay K2, 000.00 non-refundable nomination fee.

Candidates must further present certified copies of their Grade 12 Certificates, as a minimum academic qualification or equivalent. The Commission wishes to advise aspiring candidates who may wish to contest in the by-election that failure to comply with these requirements shall render the nomination papers null and void.

Media personnel and Registered Non-Governmental Organisations wishing to monitor/observe the nominations are advised to apply for accreditation in the respective districts which will take place from today Monday 11th March, 2019.

Only five (5) senior officials of any participating political party with Electoral Commission of Zambia accreditation will be allowed to accompany aspiring candidates into the Nomination Centre during the filing of nominations. The rest of the supporters should remain outside the 400 metre parameter from the Nomination Centre in accordance with the law.
Note that the campaign period for this election commences on 14th March 2019 after 15:00 hours and will end at 18:00 hours Tuesday 26th March, 2019. In addition, not more than two (2) political party members per participating political party shall be allowed to witness counting of votes at the Polling Station.
For any clarification, please contact the Public Relations Department on 211 252208 or the District Electoral Officer in the respective district.

Margaret Chimanse
Public Relations Manager
For/The Commission