Parliamentary and Local Government By-Elections for Sesheke Constituency and Seven (7) Local Government Wards


Notice is hereby given to the general public that the Electoral Commission of Zambia has prescribed Tuesday, 12th February, 2019 as the date on which to hold the Parliamentary By-election in Sesheke Constituency of Sesheke District. On the same date, the Commission will also conduct Seven (7) Local Government By-elections in Anoya Zulu Ward of Chililabombwe District, Munyama Ward of Kabwe District, Mkomba Ward of Lundazi District, Chindwale Ward of Katete District, Chinkutila Ward of Chifunabuli District, Nkombwa Ward of Isoka District and Sewe Mungole Ward of Chavuma District.

The By-election in Sesheke has been necessitated by the death of the late Member of Parliament, Mr. Frank Kufakwandi on Monday 12th November, 2018. The vacancies in Anoya Zulu, Munyama, Mkomba, Chindwale, Chinkutila, Nkombwa and Sewe Mungole wards are as a result of resignations and deaths of councillors.

The polls will take place from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates in the by-elections should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner for Oaths, Election Officer or Returning Officer on Thursday 10th January, 2019 between 09:00 hours and 15:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates for the Parliamentary By-election in Sesheke Constituency should take along with them fifteen (15) supporters who must be registered voters in the respective District or Constituency. The supporters must have in their possession their Green National Registration Cards and Voters’ Cards. Aspiring candidates for the Parliamentary By-elections will be required to pay Seven Thousand, Five Hundred Kwacha (K7,500.00), non-refundable nomination fee.

Aspiring candidates in the Local Government By-elections should take along with them nine (9) supporters who must be registered voters in the affected wards. Aspiring candidates will be required to pay Seven Hundred and fifty Kwacha (K750.00), for City and Municipal Councils and Four Hundred Kwacha (K400.00) for District Councils, non-refundable nomination fee.

Candidates for the Parliamentary and the Seven (7) Ward By-elections must also present certified copies of their Grade 12 Certificates, as a minimum academic qualification or equivalent.

In view of this, the Commission wishes to advise aspiring candidates who may wish to contest in these by-elections that failure to comply with these requirements shall render the nomination papers null and void.

Media personnel and Registered Non-Governmental Organisations wishing to monitor/observe the elections are advised to apply for accreditation in the respective districts which will take place from 31st December, 2018 to 8th February, 2019.

Accreditation for political party officials wishing to monitor elections in the districts/ wards shall only be up to a maximum of 10 members per political party.

Please note that only a maximum of 5 accredited members per political party and two accredited representatives of NGOs shall be authorised to represent their respective political parties or NGOs at the Collation Centre (Totalling Centre).

Only five (5) senior officials of any participating political party with Electoral Commission of Zambia accreditation will be allowed to accompany aspiring candidates into the Nomination Centre during the filing of nominations. The rest of the supporters should remain outside the 400 metre parameter from the Nomination Centre in accordance with the law.

Note that the campaign period for these elections commences on Thursday 10th January, 2019 after 15:00 hours and will end at 18:00 hours on Monday, 11th February, 2019.

In addition, not more than two (2) political party members per participating political party shall be allowed to witness counting of votes at the Polling Station.

For any clarification, please contact the Public Relations Department on 0211 252208 or the District Electoral Officers in the respective districts.

Margaret Chimanse
Public Relations Manager
For/The Commission

Download complete Press Release here: