Election Support Centres To Be Established During The Conduct Of 20th November, 2018 Polls

The Electoral Commission of Zambia (ECZ) is conducting a two day training exercise on establishment and operationalisation of Election Support Centres (ESCs). ESCs are centres from which ECZ officers monitor key activity areas of the poll day in areas where elections are taking place and in turn provide near to real time periodic reports on progress of the elections to ECZ Headquarters in Lusaka.

The Centres serve as an early warning system that supports key election activities before, during and after the poll day.

Preparatory training and briefings for Election Support Centre Staff is taking place from 12th to 13th October, 2018 in Lupososhi District in Northern Province and Mangango Constituency, Kaoma District in Western Province where the ESCs are being established ahead of the National Assembly election in Mangango and the Council Chairperson election in Lupososhi.

The ESCs monitor compliance and adherence to the Electoral Process Act in the conduct of elections, identify threats to the peaceful conduct of the polls and deliver timely and relevant remedy to threats and issues that may arise.

The ESCs will also coordinate active interaction of field contacts for efficient conduct of by-elections in order to enable the Commission to be fully updated on the progress of poll activities in the field.

The Concept of Election Support Centres was first initiated during the 2016 General Elections and Referendum with technical support from the International Foundation for Electoral Systems (IFES).

The Commission has prescribed Thursday 20th November, 2018 as the date on which to conduct Polls for office of Council Chairperson in Lupososhi District and Parliamentary by-election in Mangango Constituency, Kaoma District.

On the same date, the Commission will also conduct Five (5) Local Government by-elections in Chisanga Ward of Ngabwe District, Lusinde Ward of Petauke District, Nkhanka Ward in Chama District, Tumvwanganai Ward of Solwezi District and Sipuma Ward of Shang’ombo District.