Briefing of Uniformed Staff Underway

The Briefing of Uniformed Staff and Party Agents is taking place today in various districts where elections are expected to take place across the country.

The Briefing provides a platform for the Commission to brief Stakeholders in the Electoral Process on procedures, rules and responsibilities in the conduct of elections and to address concerns which may arise from the collective dialogue which takes place at the briefing.

Uniformed Staff are Stakeholders in the Electoral Process who maintain law and order during the conduct of Polls and they include the Police, Zambia Wildlife Authority and Court Police.

Polling Agents are representatives of political parties and candidates who witness proceedings of the Poll at the Polling Station while Election Agents represent political parties and candidates in Constituencies and Wards.

Various organisations, groups and individuals constitute electoral stakeholders. Stakeholders, contribute significantly to the promotion of a credible electoral process in Zambia.

Other electoral Stakeholders include The Commission, Voters, Political Parties and Candidates, the Media, Monitors and Observers, the Donor Community; and Civil Society as well as Faith-based Organisations.

All stakeholders are expected to discharge their duties in accordance with the Electoral Code of Conduct (ECC) and any other written law or such lawful directives as may be given by the Commission.

The Commission has prescribed Thursday 26th July, 2018 as the date on which to hold the Mayoral elections in Lusaka and Council Chairpersons’ elections in Chilanga, Chasefu, Chipangali, Kasenengwa, Lumezi, Lusangazi and Chifunabuli districts. The Commission will on the same date hold by-elections in Chachacha, Lwambazi, Kangwena, Kanongesha, Kanyama and Looma wards.

The Mayoral and Council Chairpersons’ elections have been necessitated following the death of Lusaka Mayor, Mr. Wilson Chisala Kalumba and the death of Chilanga Council Chairperson Mrs, Maria Malila and the declaration of Chasefu, Chipangali, Kasenengwa, Lumezi, Lusangazi and Chifunabuli as districts by the President of the Republic of Zambia.

The By-elections in the six (6) wards have been necessitated by resignations and deaths of Councillors in the named wards