Chairperson Welcomes Two New Members to the Commission

Left to Right: ECZ Commissioners Mr. Ali Simwinga, ECZ Deputy Chairperson Ms. Annette Chirumba NhekairoDr. Emily Joy Sikazwe,
ECZ Chairperson Hon. Mr. Justice Esau E. Chulu and Hon. Mr. Justice Christopher Mushabati

The Electoral Commission of Zambia has received two new Members of the Commission and introduced two senior members of staff who joined the institution recently.

Introducing the new members and staff to the Commission at a meeting with all members of staff in the New Conference room on 23rd April, 2018, Chairperson of the Commission Justice Essau welcomed the new members and staff to the Commission.

He encouraged all members of staff to give them maximum support and cooperation.

Mrs Annette Chirumba Nhekairo, Vice- Chairperson and Commissioner Mr Ali Derrick Njavwa Simwinga were recently appointed by the Republican President and ratified by Parliament as Members of Commission.

The Chairperson also introduced Mrs. Chana Kaunda Zambezi, the Director Electoral Operations and Mr. Bob Musenga the Commission Secretary and Legal Counsel.

Justice Chulu emphasised the need to work as a team by not letting misunderstandings derail the Commission from achieving its objectives and mandate of delivering free and fair elections.

He further reiterated the need for all members of staff to remain non-partisan and avoid any political associations.

Vice-Chairperson, Mrs. Nhekairo in her maiden speech said that she was glad to join the Commission and was looking forward to work with the Commission and staff.

Commissioner Ali Simwinga also expressed his pleasure to be part of the Commission and recalled the time he served as Kitwe District Electoral Officer for many years. He said that he was looking forward to complement the good work and reputation that the Commission had attained over the years.

The members of the Commission were sworn-in by the President on 6th April, 2018.