By-Elections in Sixteen (16) Local Government Wards



6th March, 2018



Notice is hereby given to the general public that the Electoral Commission of Zambia has prescribed Tuesday, 24th April, 2018 as the date on which to conduct sixteen (16) Local Government by-elections in Luapula, Kansuswa, Chiweza, Chiwuyu, Ntumbachushi, Munwa, Nampundwe, Mikunku, Kalebe, Kakoma, Kanongo, Mushima, Kalilele, Mudyanyama, Mwanza East and Lealui Lower wards.

The by-elections in the 16 wards are as a result of convictions, resignations, and deaths of incumbent councillors.

In view of this, the Commission wishes to notify members of the public that may wish to contest in the current vacant Local Government wards to take note of what the law stipulates when a vacancy for the office of councillor occurs.

Article 157 (2) (b) of the Constitution of Zambia Amendment Act No. 2 of 2016 provides that “the office of councillor becomes vacant if the councillor resigns by one month’s notice, in writing to the Mayor or Council Chairperson”

At the same time, clause 3 provides as follows; “Where a councillor resigns in accordance to clause 2 (b) the councillor shall not be eligible to re-election as a councillor for the duration of the term of that council”

The polls will take place from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates in the by-elections should lodge completed and attested statutory declaration and nomination papers subscribed before a Magistrate, Local Court Magistrate, Head of a Government Primary or Secondary School, Principal of a College, Commissioner of Oaths, Election Officer or Returning Officer on Tuesday 27th March, 2018  between 09:00 hours and 15:00 hours.

Aspiring candidates in the 16 Local Government by-elections should take along with them nine (9) supporters who must be registered voters in the affected wards. Aspiring candidates will be required to pay Seven Hundred and fifty Kwacha (K750.00) for Municipal Councils and Four Hundred Kwacha (K400.00) for District Councils non-refundable nomination fee.


Media personnel and Registered Non-Governmental Organisations wishing to monitor/observe the elections are advised to apply for accreditation in the respective districts, which will take place from 19th March to 23rd April, 2018.  

Accreditation for political party officials wishing to monitor elections in the districts/ wards shall only be up to a maximum of 10 members per political party.

Please note that only a maximum of 5 accredited members per political party and two accredited representatives of NGOs shall be authorised to represent their respective political parties or NGOs at the Collation Centre (Totaling Centre).

Only three (3) senior officials of any participating political party with Electoral Commission of Zambia accreditation will be allowed to accompany aspiring candidates into the Nomination Centre during the filing of nominations. The rest of the supporters should remain outside the 400 metre parameter from the Nomination Centre, in accordance with the law.


Note that the campaign period for these elections commences on Tuesday 27th March, 2018 after 15:00 hours and will end at 18:00 hours on Monday, 23rd April, 2018.

In addition, not more than two (2) political party members per participating political party shall be allowed to witness counting of votes at the Polling Station.


1 Central Shibuyunji Mwembezhi Nampundwe
2 Copperbelt Kalulushi Kalulushi Luapula
3 Copperbelt Mufulira Mufulira Kansuswa
4 Eastern Nyimba Nyimba Chiweza
5 Eastern Sinda Sinda Chiwuyu
6 Luapula Kawambwa Kawambwa Ntumbachushi
7 Luapula Mwense Mambilima Munwa
8 Muchinga Chinsali Chinsali Mikunku
9 Muchinga Shiwang’andu Shiwang’andu Kalebe 
10 Muchinga Mafinga Mafinga Kakoma
11 North-Western Kasempa Kasempa Kanongo
12 North-Western Mufumbwe Mufumbwe Mushima
13 North-Western Mushindamo Mushindamo Kalilele
14 North-Western Mwinilunga Mwinilunga Mudyanyama
15 Southern Monze Moomba Mwanza East
16 Western Mongu Mongu Central Lealui Lower


For any clarification, please contact the Public Relations Department on 0211 252208 or the District Electoral Officers in the respective districts.


The Commission

Electoral Commission of Zambia

Elections House

Haile Selassie Avenue

P O Box 50274