Council Chairperson By-election Nominations Received

The Commission has received nominations of candidates for the forthcoming Council Chairperson Elections in Lunte, Lavushimanda, Kanchibiya and Itezhi Tezhi districts.Candidates who have successfully filed their nominations in Lunte are Mr. Chanda Simon of the Patriotic Front, Mr. Chongo Lazarous of the United Party for National Development and Mr. Chikwanda George, an independent candidate.

Returning Officer, Mr. Felix Kaluba received the nominations at Vincent Bulaya Primary School which was the designated Nomination Centre of the Electoral Commission of Zambia between 09:00hrs and 15:00 hrs.

In Lavushimanda, two candidates filed their nominations. The first candidate to file his nomination papers was Mupenda Mwelwa, of the UPND while the PF candidate, Humphery Katemba was the only other candidate who successfully filed his nomination papers in Lavushimanda District.

The District Electoral Officer, who was Returning Officer, Mr. George Musumali declared the duo as validly nominated candidates at Mununga Primary school, which was the designated Nomination Centre for the district.

In Kanchibiya, Returning Officer, Michael Kalima received valid nominations from Chipalo Mwansa of the PF and Kanjela Silvario of the UPND at Chalabesa Mission School, which was the Nomination Centre for the district.

In Itezhi Tezhi Returning Officer, Stanley Shikabone received nominations from PF’s Candidate Ms. Kaingu Namakau, UPND’s Shaloba Stephen, Party of National Unity’s Shilupezi Irene and Independent candidate Sitengu Oliver.

The by-election in Itezhi Tezhi, district has been necessitated following the death of the incumbent Council Chairperson. The creation of Kanchibiya, Lavushimanda and Lunte districts necessitated the need for Council Chairpersons’ elections in the said districts.

The Commission is also making preparations for by-elections in eight (8) Local Government Wards namely; Chililalila, Chitwi, Luansobe, Luntomfwe, Libonda, Mpidi Kakonga, Chimanja and Mabinga.

The vacancies in Chililalila, Chitwi, Luansobe, Luntomfwe, Libonda, Mpidi Kakonga, Chimanja and Mabinga wards are as a result of deaths and resignations of incumbent Councillors.

The Commission has set 14th September, 2017 as the date on which to hold the District Council Chairperson’s elections in Itezhi Tezhi, Kanchibiya, Lavushimanda and Lunte districts.

On the same date, the Commission will also conduct the eight (8) Local Government by-elections in the eight (8) wards from 06:00 hours to 18:00 hours.

Itezhi Tezhi District is located in Central Province, Kanchibiya and Lavushimanda in Muchinga Province and Lunte in Northern Province.